Die World Intelligent Property Office-Betrüger

Vor den World Intelligent Property Office-Betrügern warnt die World Intellectual Property Organization:

„Warning: New Misleading Invoice

Geneva, December 19, 2014

It has recently come to the attention of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) that an entity named “ World Intelligent Property Office“ is sending letters to the holders of international registrations and their representatives, inviting them to pay fees for registering/publishing their marks.

This entity uses a similar name, logo, address and contact details to those of WIPO, potentially misleading the public.

We advise users that this entity has no connection with WIPO. Its activities have no legal effect under the Madrid System.

All international trademark registrations and related records are published in the “ WIPO Gazette of International Marks“, the only official publication of the Madrid System. All fees under the Madrid System should be paid to WIPO directly in Swiss Francs or through the Office of Origin.

Guidance on identifying misleading invoices is available in the September 2014 edition of Madrid Highlights. The Madrid System website lists regularly updated samples of misleading invoices.

Please check with your representative or contact us, if you have any questions. If you wish to report receiving a misleading invoice document, please e-mail intreg.mail@wipo.int.“

Eine Fake-Rechnung sieht wie folgt aus:

Fake-Rechnung der World Intelligent Property Office
Fake-Rechnung der World Intelligent Property Office

Quelle: WIPO

Thomas Felchner



Thomas Felchner

Nationales und internationales Markenrecht


Rechtsanwalt Thomas Felchner, Johannesstraße 65, 45721 Haltern an See, E-Mail: felchner@o2online.de, Mobil: 015733131130